Most reviewed Royal Caribbean ships

Top reviewers

132 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Jacqueline H

Contributor

  • 418 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Ovation of the Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Feb 2017

"Amazing ship, staff, entertainment and food."

We loved every moment of our cruise on the Ovation of the Seas. Embarkation took 10 minutes from kerb to ship (just as they state on their website!). We were a bit concerned going on this ship from some of the negative reviews we had read but we need not be. The ship is just wonderful. It is BIG but is so well laid out we never had trouble finding our way around. The cabin was a great size with plenty of storage. We loved having a balcony and even better a kettle in the cabin so we could make a cuppa first thing in the morning and enjoy it out on our balcony. The bathroom was compact but well set out and very functional. The decor throughout the ship was just lovely. We loved every meal we had. Generally we had breakfast in the Solarium Bistro, lunch in the Windjammer Buffet and dinner in the American Icon. The food was fantastic and plentiful, you will ever go hungry. There is an icecream station on the pool deck plus a hot dog van in the Seaplex as well as Sorrento's pizza (we only went here once and weren't great fans of the pizza but freshly made they would probably be yummy), Cafe Two70 and the Promenade Cafe (which is open 24/7). We didn't eat at the Extra restaurants as we were very happy with the places we ate at. The facilities and entertainment were just fabulous, the show The Dream was incredible. We went on the Bumper Cars, North Star and iFly (we prebooked the North Star and iFly before our cruise but you could also book once on board). I was amazed how well run everything was with 4,000 passengers. We didn't go on the Flowrider but watched it many times - it did look fun! The tendering service was well organised as was when we docked. If people listen to the staff and follow directions things run smoothly it is only when you get ignorant, rude and selfish people that slow things down. The pool areas are great, we especially loved the Solarium. This is the 16+ pool area. I think if you go with the attitude of looking for things to complain about you're never going to enjoy yourself. It is an incredible ship which we found very hard to find any faults with. The staff in all areas where so friendly, efficient and happy to help whenever they could. We loved our cruise and hope we are lucky enough to go on the Ovation of the Seas again. It is a spectacular ship!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Ovation of the Seas
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: January 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Trevor H

Contributor

Ovation of the Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Feb 2017

"Beautiful Ship"

This is our 4th cruise with RCI and we had a wonderful time, we booked to board at 1230 and arrived at pier and informed attendant of this and they checked our paper work and sent on to the section of check in, on board in about 15 mins from dropping off our bags.The ship has so many wow factors and the cabin was a decent size (balcony deck 8 D8 ).Make sure you book what you want to see and if you want to eat at any of the speciality restaurants as they seem to get booked out, this can be done online and also book the drink package as well more expensive to buy on board. The food on board was amazing and no problem if you wanted a particular meal mention to waiter and they will arrange for the following night, we visited Jamie Olivers Italian restaurant along with Wonderland, for what you get and the presentation is well worth extra price. We have booked again for next season out of Sydney, ship never felt overcrowded and staff always polite and helpful

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Ovation of the Seas
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: February 2017
Contributor image placeholder

David B

Contributor

  • 235 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Explorer Of The Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Feb 2017

"South Pacific Cruise"

Sailed with my wife , 3 daughters and one of their boyfriends on 8 day cruise on Explorer of the Seas to Noumea, Mystery Island and Mare from Sydney on 14th Feb 2017. Had 2 balcony cabins on Deck 9 next to each other and an inside on same deck across alleyway. From the moment we got on board till we got off we had a great time. Loved the food in both the Windjammer and the Sapphire Restaurant. Daughter and boyfriend ate twice in Giovannis and said food was great. he is a chef by trade and liked the food on the ship. Our cabin stewards were great. Nothing a problem. Table waiters in restaurant were the best. Looked after us so well. Entertainment. We went to all the shows and all were first class. Ice skating show was great. Found plenty of room to chill out on decks. So many bars etc that ship did not feel crowded. Islands were great especially Mystery Island and Mare. Noumea? Once is enough. Would i travel on Royal Caribbean again. Yes.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Explorer Of The Seas
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: February 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Ashley M

Contributor

  • 218 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Explorer Of The Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Nov 2015

"Nice ship few disappointments. "

We cruised from Singapore to Fremantle on this ship. The crew were amazing so friendly & helpful. We did not eat in main dining room but loved Windjammer. The staff in here were incredible. The pool area is lovely with the live band & movies has everything you need. We did not find drinks too expensive & did not bother with drinks packages. Our 3 year loved the kids club & the staff in there. I went to the dsy spa twice one time was incredible & really worth it but second time I was really annoyed with the worker. I declared a condition i have & she kept telling my dr doesn't know how to treat my condition & some "herbal" drugs she was selling onboard would clear it. I asked where you can buy them but they aren't available in or allowed to be sent to Australia. She was very persistent & ruin my dayspa experience. Did not go back after this. Our only main complaints are RCI themselves assured us the kids pool & play area is still on board when is definitely is not & assured me there is free wifi for email only which there is not!! This is a very large ship but you don't notice this when onboard. Would definitely go on board again. Was a great family holiday & look forward to doing it again!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Explorer Of The Seas
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: November 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Rocco L

Contributor

  • 177 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Ovation of the Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    2
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    3
  • Value

    3
Jan 2017

"Roc"

Great cruise and fantastic entertainment. Very friendly staff and helpful. Shore leave could have been organized better. Coffee on this cruise ship was very ordinary no matter how strong you asked for it was still weak. Overall the ship was great

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Ovation of the Seas
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: December 2016
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"royal-caribbean\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruises.webjet.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}